Vijay Laxman Kelkar

Padma Vibhushan, Chairman XIII Finance Commission (2007-10), President Indian Statistical Institute,
and Chairman National Institute of Public Finance and Policy

Vijay Kelkar is one of India’s most eminent economists and technocrats, and a renowned public policy thought-leader. The President of India awarded him the Padma Vibhushan, India’s second highest civilian award, in 2011 for his distinguished and exceptional services to the nation. He has been a member of the IIHS Board since 2010 and is the nominated Chancellor for the IIHS IoE.


He has served the Government of India in senior positions, including: Chairman, XIII Finance Commission, in the rank of Union Cabinet Minister (2007–10), Advisor to the Minister of Finance, in the rank of a Minister of State (2002–4), Finance Secretary (1998–99), Secretary, Economic Advisory Council to the Prime Minister, (1985–88) among many other important positions. He has had a distinguished international career as: Chairman, Forum of Federations, Ottawa (2010–13); IMF Executive Director for India, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Bhutan (1999–2002); and Director and Coordinator, International Trade Division, UNCTAD (1991–1994). Dr Kelkar was the Chairman of the National Stock Exchange of India (2010–12) and is an independent Director on the Boards of various global companies including JM Financial Ltd, Go Airlines (India) Ltd and Sembcorp Green Infra Limited. He serves on many non-profits organisations.


Dr Kelkar has been actively involved in the governance and development of key national higher education and research institutions. He currently serves as the Chairman, National Institute of Public Finance and Policy (NIPFP) and is a Board member of the Administrative Staff College of India, Hyderabad.


Dr Kelkar holds a BS from the University of Pune, MS from the University of Minnesota and PhD from the University of California, Berkeley. He has taught at the Administrative Staff College of India, Hyderabad; Center for Economic Development and Administration, Kathmandu; South Asia Institute, Heidelberg University; and University of California, Berkeley.